dragon2

new canon eos 450D/rebel xsi

saw this in another photography forum it looks gorgeous with the new big screen but hopefully one of my offers on a new 30d will accepted so i can stop shopping around and being tempted by more and more expensive toys.

anyone know when the 450 is due for release?

Typically when Canon announces a SLR you can pick it up in less then a month.

It looks like a really nice camera, I am just a bit surprised to see the move to SD memory. Thats putting all my CF cards into the garbage if Canon is going to be moving all their future SLR platforms to that memory format.
Yesterday is history
And tomorrow is a mystery

Parachutemanuals.com

im only a novice in the market for my first slr but in the other thread it was mentioned that most p+s cameras seem to be sd so it makes the camera more appealing to them and also most laptop card readers can read sd but not cf.

as far as i know the 1d mk3 can read both so i doubt they will change their entire line exclusively to sd if there are rakes of professionals with hoards of cf cards

It looks like a really nice camera, I am just a bit surprised to see the move to SD memory. Thats putting all my CF cards into the garbage if Canon is going to be moving all their future SLR platforms to that memory format.

Yeh. that is weird. My guess is it helps them save weight and size, and since SD cards can hold high capacities now it's more viable.
www.WingsuitPhotos.com

I don't see any features that make me really want to upgrade from the XTi. Some nice changes, but it'll really come down to whether or not there's a real difference in picture quality. Upgrading would mean selling all my memory cards... and then if I ever wanted to upgrade to a 40D I'd need new memory cards again (unless the 40D's replacement uses SD too).