davidpanal

who has the publishing rights? cameraman or tandem master?

Hi, I am new in skydiving photography, I started to work this tandem master this year and I do not like to talk good about my self but I can say I did a good job as many people told me so. But question is I wanted to send some photos to skydiving magazines and tandem master told me that he has all the rights on these photos as his website says. But I have no contract with him, also I use all my equipments. Do I need his legal approval to send any of these photos? Can anyone help with that. Thank you

What country are you in? That is kinda essential when dealing with anything legal...

In the UK you do not need permission to publish photos of other adults, but you might have problems if someone has explicitly told you they don't want the pictures published.

In terms of copyright, you are being paid to make the video, and that payment may or may not include a fee for the copyright of the video. Unless there is a contract though, I don't see that the tandem master could make any claim on the copyright (he didn't make the video, and he didn't pay for it).

If you are working for him, your pictures COULD be his, it all depends on your agreement.

With regards to sending in pics to magazines.. if you want to be completely in the clear, get a model release.
Here in the US a lot of the waivers already have it in there that your picture might be taken and used for publications... I don't know about France.

yes but I have no contrac with him, nothing writen. So if I just jump with people and takes sone photos do I need their aprovel to send the photos to a magazinee. Thank you

If you are working for him, your pictures COULD be his, it all depends on your agreement.

With regards to sending in pics to magazines.. if you want to be completely in the clear, get a model release.