cameramonkey

DO NOT BUY MATROX VIDEO PRODUCTS!!!

I am usually not one to bash products, but this is one I gotta tell everyone about. This is my account of my experience with Matrox.
I purchased a Matrox RT2500 Real time, PC based digital video editor back several months ago. I started to install it into a system that I built (I am a professional PC/Network Tech). It wouldn’t quite work. I contacted tech support and was told flatly that it wasn’t their problem because I wasn’t using "approved" hardware. They immediately blamed my untested hardware and would not help (it wasn’t the hardware as you will see later). So, since I really wanted to get this $1000 non-returnable item working, I gave in and upgraded the system to be "approved".
After another call that lasted quite a while, they couldn’t quite figure out why it wasn’t working. They gave me a handful of things to try. I hung up and after tweaking it a bit, found the problem (system memory set for 100mhz instead of 133mhz). A month later I got the phone bill... $100 in international long distance @.89/min since they are located in Montreal, Canada. OUCH. At least now it works. (for now)
Bear in mind this is marketed as a professional grade product....
It ran GREAT for months. I set up the first day of the Richmond Boogie (WED) to start filming/editing tandems. I noticed that morning that the right audio out channel kept dropping. I thought it was a bad cable because I could tweak the connector and it would work for a few seconds then drop out again. In the process of tweaking, I found that the connector had come loose on the cable that runs to the PC. Well, actually the RCA jack came out completely from the breakout box, and due to the fact that its made by injecting plastic around the electronics, it was impossible to field repair.