fedykin

comparison- vengence and stilletos

im jumping a stiletto 135 now and in about a year im going to downsize/ change canopies. either a 120 stiletto or a vengence of one size or another.

what has anyone noticed about the real handling differences between stilettos and vengences ie.. recov arcs, flare, openiing. is it worth the extra hassle ie..packing volume, opennings and all the palava associated with a really high performance canopy

cheers

Read the manuals on PDs website. They have direct comaprisons. I have no experience of the vengeance but i saw an article on Pier ltds website that said the stiletto is more high performance - most people downsize from their stiletto when buying one though.
http://www.garywainwright.co.uk

Instagram gary_wainwright_uk

The first thing PD recommends is that someone try one size smaller vengeance thatn the size stilleot they are jumping.

This is probably becasue the vengeance is not as snappy in the toggles as a stilleto and if you fly the same size it could appear awkward.

The vengeance is as high an aspect ratio canopy as the highest aspect ratio velocity (velocities of different sizes have different aspect ratios). The vengeance will have a very slowe stall speed compared to a stilleto becasue of this.

In general the vengeance likes to dive very much. The riser pressure is lighter and if you are used to a stilletoo and do a hard snap hook on a vengeance wyou will be taken on a diving ride similar to a cross brace (I have seen someone unfamiliar with this almost kill themselves).

I can hook my Vengeance 135 from 400-350 feet and stay in the dive before I plane out. They dive very hard.

I would not recommend on to someone that does not intetend to hook hard and dive at the ground. If you prefer to carve gently a samurai or better yet a competition cobalt ;) might fit your needs.