Lindenwood

11 Jumps in: doing my first coached jump this weekend; any tips on "diving?"

Hello, Ive been reading this forum and the articles pretty aggressivelely for the last ~6 weeks, just getting a feel for all the theory and all the things there are for me to learn). I graduated AFF a few weeks ago and did 3 solo jumps last weekend just working on stability, loops, rolls, exits, etc, not to mention canopy control. I was planning on going this weekend for jumps 12-14, with the first being a practice run, the 2nd being my first 3500 hop-and-pop, and the 3rd being a coached jump.

Specifically, the DZO said he wants me to work on diving after and docking with the coach to develop that skill before jumping with others.

Any tips on diving? I have a pretty good grasp on how to increase my fall rate, but any suggestions and tips I can start thinking about, and that will give me a direction when asking my instructors, would be good.

I just dont want to burn up all my altitude doing it incorrectly, or accidentally track a hundred feet away trying to dive, or whatever. Also, am I correct in assumig he would exit the plane a second or so ahead of me?

Thanks.
Weeeee!

am I correct in assumig he would exit the plane a second or so ahead of me?

Yes.

Beyond that, hold off on any 'training' until it's provided by the coach you're going to jump with. Your coach will have access to your logbook and presumably the AFFI's you've jumped with, and they will have the best idea of how to train you for the given jump.

Every DZ uses a slightly different method of training students. Some use different terms, some use different dive flows, etc, so in the end your best bet is to keep it all 'in house' and go with the program they're presenting.

Once you get a license, and are 'on your own', by all means shop around for thoughts or ideas on how to figure stuff out. There's no chance that you'll pick up advice that will be contraty to your coach, as there will be no coach.