Daskal

S/L, IAD Rating Worth It?

I just wanted to ask everyone's advice about this. I am currently a USPA Coach and am debating whether or not it would be worth it to attempt to earn a S/L or IAD Instructional rating. When I say worth it I mean are there enough DZ's around that perform S/L or IAD jumps as a student training method in order to keep a potential rating current. I do not have enough freefall time (nor the air skills) necessary to pass the AFF course, and have no desire to become a tandem instructor or fly a camera. I really enjoy working with students as a USPA Coach, and it seems like taking the S/L or IAD course would improve my abilities when working with students, and it would give me the general priviledges of a USPA Insructor, such as adminstering the A license check dive, giving written exams, and supervising other coaches. I am concerned however because my home DZ does not offer either method, and they seem to be few and far between in Florida. Does anyone have any advice on what I should do? Should I take a S/L or IAD course or just work on improving my freefall time and air skills toward a future AFF rating course? Any help would be appreciated.

OK, so you love to teach. The bottom line is, our sport needs people like you - people who are passionate about giving back a portion of the joy that they have received from skydiving.

I am no authority on the percentage of DZs that that use SL/IAD vs. AFF (or one of its spin-offs), but I would venture to say that AFF is the most common instructional method nowadays, with IAD second, and SL third. Of course, Tandem progression factors in there somewhere, but that eventually leads to AFF in most places.