steve1

Jumping at Taft in the old days.

I was just wondering if anyone jumped in Taft during the 60's and 70's. We have a pilot who flew the first ten-way load, back then, with Jerry Bird. His name is Walt and he used to own a twin beach. He's now in his 70's but is still flying jumpers here in Montana. Anyone remember him. He's a tough old bird. Last year he was flying loads out of a 206, with the door off, in the winter. Everyone would be freezing their gonads off. Sometimes we'd be huddled under a blanket, in the back of the plane, with chattering teeth. It was that cold, but Walt always came back to fly another load. Steve1

I jumped there between 27 SEPT 69 and 12 April 70. I was a poor student At Brooks in Santa Barbara and was looking for a closer place that the "NYLON TRIANGLE" (Hemit-Perris-Elsinore)after Santa Ynez closed down.

I made my first motion picture camera jump there and my 100th jump there with Joan Emmeck (D-1811) and I landed on a cactus. Taft was also my last jump in California (moved to Colorado.

I remember Bill Smith (A Canadian), Art Wooly, Bill Freeman and Debby Reeves mostly.

Thom

Well, before 1962 at least. 2 of the 1962 World Team, Murriel Simbro and someone else, were Taft jumpers. Both the Simbros jumped as did their daughter at Taft.

Taft and Lancaster were very early California DZ's and in competition. I prefered Lancatser because it was closer but it lost out to Taft.

THOM

> anyone jumped in Taft during the 60's and 70's

I was there from about 1964 to 1970.

I remember Walt and his Beech. Please tell him
Skratch says Hi.

I met both Walt and Jerry Bird at Arvin.

Bird took Russian at the Army language school
in Monterey and one day he started counting
who was on the load in Russian.

I took Russian in 1957 after the Soviets sent
the first Sputnik up so I started talking back.

For a few years Bird and I were brother in laws,
married to sisters Diane and Clarice, two of the
early women jumpers.