moodyskydiver

job update

A while back I posted about getting a promotion at work.Well, things have changed but I'm not sure if its for the better or not.

I'm a writer for a small hometown newspaper that is published weekly.I was supposed to have been tapped for the new photographer slot.But instead, my editor/publisher came up to me a few weeks ago and told me that she was going to have to make some staffing cuts because the paper was going into the financial hole.

Instead of just writing she wanted me to learn how to format the paper layout to send to the printer, which involves placing ads, stories, obituaries etc. and then dropping it onto the printer's server for printing.She still wants me "on call" for journalism work but the editor/publisher is going out and doing all the journalism work to keep from having to pay the writers.So mostly I'm stuck in the office right now learning the program (Adobe InDesign CS2) that we use to format the paper.

This wouldnt be such a bad thing if my colleagues werent getting layed off one by one AND if I was actually getting paid right now.But, since I'm just learning how to use this program (even though I'm working on current issues of the paper that are getting published) she said she couldnt afford to pay me AT ALL while I'm learning.Shes calling this my "apprenticeship" and thus need not be paid.So I havent been paid since December 1st.

I know I'm learning something that could be beneficial to me down the road and once I'm proficient to my editor/publisher's standards, I'll be getting paid a little more than what I was making solely as a writer/photographer, but I'm seriously broke! I'm divorced, in college and living on my parents' good graces right now for support.I'm really wanting to move out from under their wing and get my own place and be self sufficient, but at the rate I'm going with no $ from my job I dont know how I'll ever be on my own.