Elisha

Are you really good at SQL programming?

Serious question. I'm a part timer at this and rather intermediate-ish (if that) and need to create a file to dump into some 3rd party reporting system.

The file needs to be in this form:

Customer Product #_of_cases_TY #_of_cases_LY
ABC Liquor Coors 12pks 103 105
ABC Liquor Pabst 6pks 89 73

Where cases TY = "this year" rolling 12 months (i.e. 9/2013 - 8/2014) and LY = "last year" rolling 12 months (i.e. 9/2012 - 8/2013). I can get the individual aggregate periods, but don't know how join or "pivot" the two periods to get them side by side. Yes, there will be Customers and products in each period that are not in the other (i.e. need to have 0 values where one time period doesn't have data in the other).

Can our awesome dz.com crowd help?

I'm not an expert with SQL but wouldn't something like:

SELECT SUM(CASE WHEN x.pdate >= DATE_ADD(NOW(), INTERVAL -1 YEAR) THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) AS p_ty, SUM(CASE WHEN x.pdate >= DATE_ADD(NOW(), INTERVAL -2 YEAR) AND x.pdate <= DATE_ADD(NOW(), INTERVAL -1 YEAR) THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) AS p_ly, y.name FROM table_with_product_purchases x LEFT JOIN table_with_product_names y ON x.pid = y.id GROUP BY x.pid;

work? I don't know your tables but assuming the table 'table_with_product_names' has an INT id and VARCHAR name and the table table_with_product_purchases has INT pid (ref to product ID) and pdate with the date it was purchased that query should work.
Your rights end where my feelings begin.

You can't use a LEFT JOIN and expect to get records from both tables. You will get all the records from the left table, but will not get the records in the right table that don't exist in the Left table.
You would have to use a FULL OUTER JOIN. See example:

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_join_full.asp
For the same reason I jump off a perfectly good diving board.

Arvoitus

I'm not an expert with SQL but wouldn't something like: