kizza

Good DV camera for camera flying?

Hey guys, I am pretty new to skydiving so obviously jumping a camera is a long way off for me, but I do want to be able to do it one day.

Anyway, I'm totally into editing video and such, so I am thinking of purchasing a DV camera for reasons other than skydiving... uni etc. But I was hoping you could fill me in on what makes and models of DV cameras are good for camera flying, so that if and when I do get to that stage I will be able to use it for that too!

Thanks heaps

I was going to ask the same question, so would like to follow this thread. Are any of those models current? I am in the UK, so maybe the model numbers differ(?) but none of them are n the current Sony handycam catalog.

Also, I am a Mac user, so does anyone know if ay camera manufacturers are particularly suitable for use with Macs? Some of them seem to come supplied with PC only s/w.
Thanks

Mike

the last sony PC series was PC-8 PC101 PC120
the new ones are PC-103 PC-105 PC-120 (so far)

all of them have a firewire IEEE1394 port that works fine with PC's and Mac

the PC-103 is only DV-out: you can copy from the camcorder onto the computer but not the other way, which is usefull if you want to archive your editing work on DV tapes

I believe the PC series is now over priced for someone getting into camera flying. The new TRV 19, 22. 33 are not only perfectly adequate with all ports ie, IEEE, Lanc, memory stick, they are also the same size pretty much as PC 101, 5 etc, they fit on a side mount helmet. They are also about 700+ CDN cheaper, I am not sure what the US dollar difference is but I am sure a big difference. Might want to investigate. I put this camera on my friends sidemount. it fits and weighs about the same.

~Chachi

"so far" huh..?
You know something we dont?

nope :P it's been arround for a while and will not for ever... just another 0.02 euro

...so it looks to me like the 105 is best option..?