namdrib

Anyone have thoughts of Xaos21 loaded at 2.4:1

I am leaning towards buying a Xaos 21 cell. I would like to know if anyone has any experience with this canopy loaded at 2.4:1. I am currently flying a Stiletto 97 loaded at 2:1 and had an opportunity to jump a friends Xaos 78 and I absolutely fell in love with the canopy. Any info would be very appreciated. Thanks.
Unknowing attempting to take out all 4 wheeled vehicles remotely close to the landing area!

First off- I have NO experience on a XAOS. But, I do have some experience with Stilettos and non-crossbraced canopies. I now fly a Velocity 96 loaded at about 2.14 I will say this: You will be so much happier on a crossbraced canopy loaded at those numbers. I do think that going to a crossbraced canopy loaded at 2.1 would be a better move than going to one loaded at 2.4. A crossbraced canopy at 2.1 will be much different than a non-crossbraced at the same loading. But you can make your own call there. Ask around though. I would imagine that most would say that 2.1 to 2.2 is closer to the "sweet spot" on a XAOS 21. I could be wrong though.

I guess my point is- A xaos 21 at a 2.0plus wingloading is a much better choice than a Stiletto at that number. Done right, you will get much more out of your swoop without being as aggressive. Don't get me wrong- a crossbraced canopy is a step up and should be considered as such, but it should allow you to learn safer, smoother techniques and increase your swoop. Mis-treated or not respected, and it will bite you.

THIS IS MY OPINION. I am sure some will disagree with my loading numbers and my Stiletto/non-crossbraced comments, but like I said, it is just my opinion. Just figured I would offer my input.

It's a bit different but I used to fly a XAOS 27 cell (88) at about 2.4 or so. I feel the 27 cells handle higher loadings better, than a 21 cell, but don't relly get too much more performance out of that loading.