olympus

Reborn =)

I feel as though I've ben reborn! I completed my first tandom jump the other day, and I'm already signed up for AFF classes. These classes along with my 20jumps WILL be completed soon, for I am lucky at present-day, having ample amounts of time with money saved up to do so. I've been researching this for several months now, but I'm still at a standstill. I'm curious as to what to buy for my first rig. I don't want to rush anything, but I would like to go ahead and purchase one. I don't want to purchase some student lvl rig for $1000-$1500 and turn around and have to get another one for $2000-$3000 in a couple of months or so. My weight is approximately 175-180lbs(it fluctuates!). I've noticed a lot of people raving about the Sun Path products, but I just really don't know. Give me some knowledge on the matter please! Any help would be greatly appreciated 8P

The problem is you will need to buy another rig to replace your first rig after only a few months if you keep on jumping. Student gear quickly may become boring, but smaller gear is dangerous till you build the skills to use it. My advice, rent as long as you can until you get 25-30 jumps and can have a better feel for what you want to buy. If you buy for that level right now, you'll hurt yourself big time while learning the basics like flat turns, ZP flares, PLF's, crosswinders,standing up landings,ect. Something around 190ish for a main and reserve should be cool after a minimum of 30 jumps. When you get to this point post here again and we can help more based on your flying style and future wants of the gear.
PhreeZone
Canopy Nazi #2
I'm not sure what to put here right now.....

You just asked a huge question.
Plan on doing your first dozen jumps on (290 square foot) student parachutes that you rent from your local skydiving school.