sonicAZ

How a Wind Tunnel Works

Well i'm no scientist or engineer, but i have been seriously drunk once or twice. ;) First off, you might have better luck posting this in the tunnel forum, maybe a mod can move it for you...

Ok, have you ever been in the tunnel? What surprised me the first time i climbed in there was that the fans that create the air are at the top of the tunnel and not the bottom. (In the Skyventure Tunnels anyway) So, imagine a vertical tube with a series of fans at the top and a nothing but a wire mesh net on the bottom - that's the tunnel, basically of course.

The fans at the top suck wind up through the "tube" and this simulates the relative wind that we skydive on/ in. There's a room that looks into the tunnel where a controller sits and he/ she controls the fan speed and flow of wind through the tunnel.

This was how i understood it anyways. What else would you like to know specifically?

edited for clarity and to add:

Like Packerboy said, there are also tunnels with the fams in the bottom, ie the blowing ones, but i don't know where they are situated. There are also outdoor "skydiving simulators" with the fans underneath - like the one in the movie "Dropzone"

Advertisio Rodriguez / Sky

there are also tunnels with the fams in the bottom, ie the blowing ones, but i don't know where they are situated.

Aerodium in Latvia is a blower.

Check out Bodyflight.net for details of lots of tunnels all around the world. In general, the SkyVenture tunnels all suck whereas most of the others blow... air that is. :) (I just couldn't resist ;)).