Floflo

S/L C206 exit: tips?

Hi,

I start a new thread regarding student exits, after the fatality in Brazil in Incidents.

I'm a fairly new S/L Instructor, with 100-ish student exits from PC6 and C206, all from a sit position at the door (Pilot chute assisted). I haven't directly witnessed any incident yet, but a few exits have been quite scary.
From these planes, I do not see any better exit option.
I've had advice from local senior instructors, but maybe instructors here have a fex tips to share?

Need to sit on the edge and rotate (twist around) sideways as far as they can (trying to get chest into the prop blast.) Legs dangling back..so they are sittin right on the edge of the left bum cheek, Head up and back looking into the top corner of the door frame. Should be now in as positive body position you can get.

Left had down on the edge of the doorsill, and on the "GO" they push down hard with their left hand and launch themselves fully around into the propblast, and into the arch..... (think vaulting over a fence with one hand on top of a post taking your weight as you do so).

Get direct bags, otherwise you will at some stage have a student on their back with a pilot chute trapped around them. Saw a fatality that was directly attributal to 206 exit, and pilot chute assisted rig.

Always scary to watch.

206 is not a good airplane for SL exits.
My computer beat me at chess, It was no match for me at kickboxing....

Need to sit on the edge and rotate (twist around) sideways as far as they can (trying to get chest into the prop blast.) Legs dangling back..so they are sittin right on the edge of the left bum cheek, Head up and back looking into the top corner of the door frame. Should be now in as positive body position you can get.