livendive

Landing w/out flare toggles?

So I came up with a question this weekend. I pick up my flare toggles fairly low, and on one jump, the first time I tried to turn after I grabbed them I realized I couldn't. I looked up and there was a tension knot low on the auxilliary brake line that was preventing the line from coming through the guide ring. I was able to change the angle I was pulling it a little and then a good yank cleared it so I had a normal landing. It got me to thinking though. If I hadn't been able to clear it, I'd have had to land without the flare toggles, on a pretty warm day, without a breath of wind. I don't know how that'd turn out. Anyone here landed without flare toggles (and I don't mean configured such that there aren't flare toggles)? Is it as simple as flare higher and more aggressively and prepare for an arrival or what?

Blues,
Dave
"I AM A PROFESSIONAL EXTREME ATHLETE!"
(drink Mountain Dew)

Yes I have. Depends on the canopy but it sucks. On the Icaruse canopies when set up with a 6-2 configuration (6 lines to the main and 2 to the flare toggles) it's not too bad. With a 4-4 it's harsher. On the Sigma you have to be on it to get a decent landing. Point is pick them up early on, I never pick them up lower than 1500 AGL, and do a seperat test flare using only them prior to establishing my pattern.
----------------------------------------------
You're not as good as you think you are. Seriously.

Point is pick them up early on, I never pick them up lower than 1500 AGL, and do a seperat test flare using only them prior to establishing my pattern.

Depending on the canopy I'm using (varies every jump between Icarus 330/365/400 & EZ-384/425), the time of day, and the size of my student, I pick them up somewhere between 800 and 2000. A separate test flare sounds like a good idea. I think I'll add that to my process at the top.

Blues,
Dave
(drink Mountain Dew)