Perser

A Few Questions from a First Time Jumper

Hi, These are really great forums, I have learned a tremendous amount of knowledge about skydiving from reading the forums over the past couple weeks. I have a few questions if nobody minds answering them.

I am planning on making my first jump this coming weekend (AFF 1). How much time can i go without jumping between jumps for the aff course?

When I get my A license does it have any sort of expiration? If I dont jump for a couple months or a year will I have to retake a training course?

How many jumps are recommended before starting to learn to freefly?
Thanks

I am planning on making my first jump this coming weekend (AFF 1). How much time can i go without jumping between jumps for the aff course?
-----------------------------------------------------------

Since I'm a student myself, i figured I could answer this, at my DZ, if your jumps are 30 days or more, then you are automatically dropped down to a level 3 or the level prior to whichever you completed.

If 60 days passes, you must take a refresher ground school course and restart at level 3 or 2 prior.

If 120 days passes, you have to do the entire ground school training and jumps all over again....

But thats just my dropzone, i think thats how it goes.....one of these other guys can answer the questions about A licensing and freefly.....

Have a good first jump!
Puttin' some stank on it.

----Hellfish #707----

You can go 30 days, which for most of us means 4 weekends. But you are much more likely to need to repeat levels at 159$ (or whatever) a pop if you do so. Trying to jump every other weekend would be much better.

Just so you know, there are two answers to that first question depending on what you want to know :

1) How long is the maximum time I will be allowed to spend without jumping before I am required to repeat a level, do extra ground training, or fulfill some other requirement before I can make my next jump?