Austin

Canopy designing

Do any of you either design canopies or know people who do?? I'm thinking that could be a pretty kick ass job..especially since I'm an aerospace eningeering student right now. I was kinda wondering what some other people who currently do this have done as far as education. I'm pretty curious to find out, so if you know or know someone any info would be appreciated.
Austin

We have a guy at our DZ who makes canopies and does serious mods to existing ones. He is great. The guy who makes slinks is also at our DZ. They both have REAL jobs but they are good at their second job too. Drop me your email and I'll forward the request to them this weekend.

It seems pretty obvious to me...but I have been there and know that sometimes you need a little help from the outside as far as where to go/what to do...
BUT, if you are really THAT interested in taking your AE degree and using it on parafoil...then how about internships with Icarus/PD/PA/Flight Concepts/Pisa(if S.A. appeals to you)/any of the others.
Having not done an internship while in school and finding it increasingly hard to compete with the ,000's who have...I wish to hell somebody had told me of their importance while I was a sophomore.
I have a friend in the front of the office who has her AE degree from Ohio State (good school!) and is a receptionist because she worked her way through school (like me).
[little rant]C'mon BIG SHOT employers...what about all the kids whose parents couldn't put them in flash cars and hook them up with cushy jobs 3 weeks before graduation...we have marketable skills too, and ours are HARD EARNED!!!![/little rant]
Good luck and yeah, remember us when you get your first job...hook us up, bro!!!
Kahurangi e Mahearangi,
Pyke:P
NZPF A - 2584