AdD

Student Wingloading

Each person has a different progression when it comes to canopy control. Your best source for such information: Your jump masters! I am still not 1:1 and I have my own gear. It completely depends on skill level, and a steady progression for some is the best bet. Speak to people who have seen you fly and know your skills. I say, all in due time...:)
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
Fly the friendly skies...^_^...})ii({...^_~...

I agree. . .the best people to ask is your instructors. I am a student working towards my A. I am flying a 240 and loading it at .67 to 1. I am just starting to stand up my landings and may downsize next time at the DZ, but I am purchasing my own gear (used) that will have me at a wing loading of .76 to 1 (a Sabre 210). Lots of room to downsize in the container I am purchasing but just enough canopy for me. Don't want to progress too fast. . .better to stay safe. . .
FGF #6
Darcy

The answer to the question you asked varies widely depending on whom you're speaking to, what DZ they're at, etc. Personally I'm already jumping 1:1 at 8 total jumps (3 at 1:1), my JMs put me on the canopy, they don't think I'll kill myself with it, others disagree.

Never go to a DZ strip show.

With your jump #s you should be talking to your instructors. They are the only ones that know what your ready for. When I went though IAF I went 280,250,then 210. I would assume that your DZ will do something simular, although I hate to "ass-u&me"! It may take 10 jumps or 40 jumps, all depending on your skills. However long it takes its all goodB|
----------------------------------------------
"Thats not smoke, thats BUCKEYE!!"
AQR#3,CWR#49

Many student progressions have jumpers at 1.1 or 1.2 at the end of their progression - 20 jumps. I presume your are not in such a program.