fpritchett64

Any opinions on my first rig

Hi, I'm fairly new to jumping, I've been around skydiving since I was about 13, a great friend (Rick Payne) from Emerald Coast got me interested in it. Currently I have 10 jumps...4 tandems and I'm on AFP level 6 now. I'm going to be getting my own gear soon and would like some advice as to what my first canopy should be. I'm 5'6 and about 175 lbs. The canopy I've been jumping on student status is a PD 260 F111 and I handle it really well. My last jump was on a 288 b/c I was waiting for the 260 rig to get put back together from my previous jump (spinning line twist cutaway) -brake line came unstowed. Anyway, that was by far the most boring canopy ride I have ever experienced, I even had to choke up on the steering lines to get any control out of a flare or turn. I have been considering a PD 190 or Sabre or Sabre 2 190, would this be a good idea or should I go a little larger? And do you have any other good suggestions for a good first canopy/rig as I am on a limited budget and need something safe and reliable yet cheap.

Anyway, that was by far the most boring canopy ride I have ever experienced . . .

Nobody ever died of boredom while skydiving. ;)

You're going to get a lot of opinions here, but probably the only ones that matter are going to be from the experienced people at your own drop zone (instructors, DZO, S&TA) that have actually seen you skydive and do not have a vested interest in selling you a rig or stroking your ego.

That said, consider buying some used gear for the first year or two of use. Hell, depending on what gear you really want to buy new, it might take that long for delivery anyway!

Again, nobody ever died of boredom while skydiving.
quade -
The World's Most Boring Skydiver