peanutgallery

Does solo fear go away?

Hey everyone, I am new to skydiving and new to the forums. I have made two tandem jumps in the last 3 weeks and am seriously considering taking the TAFF course at my DZ. I trust the tandem masters with my life (obviously) and I'm not sure if I will ever trust myself that much. It seems like most accidents are lack of quick thinking and decision making, I'm worried that I will panic during an emergency. Does that confidence get built with the training? Any advice?
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke

Congrats on your tandems!

Once you sit through an AFF course and the training is beaten into your head during that first jump course as well as subsequent training/jumps, you do get to feel more comfortable with your ability to react to problems and the manageability of skydiving.

It's just like anything else... the unknown is a frightening thing. AFF is designed to take skydiving from the 'unknown' to the 'known' and you'd be surprised how reassuring that is.

I am still just a little nervous before every skydive, but that's okay. I love jumping and the friends I've made in this sport.

Do or do not, there is no try -Yoda

well, yes and no. I have over 200 jumps and I still get scared. But the less time between jumps, the less afraid I am. As far as "panic" is concerned, you'll have so much drilled into your head that when the time comes, it will all come back to you.

On my level 4 (IAF), I hesitated out the door, and opened a little lower than I was supposed to open. Had no idea where I was and was flying away from the dz. Radio guy yells, "I have no idea where you are, find a big opened area and stay safe." PANIC!!!!!!! all I saw were trees, telephone wires and a river. huhuhuhuhuhuh. deep breath. and everything Linda had taught me, all came back. then I saw the big farmers field. Landed right in the middle of it..5 miles from the dz! First time I ever hitch-hiked.