Restrictions


USPA membership Required
AADs Not Required
Hook turns Allowed

What it costs


AFF courses available at 285 USD
Tandem jumps from 199 USD
Jump tickets at 20 USDto 11500ft
Video available at 89 USD

No description available.

Aircraft


C-182

Facilities


Gear Rentals
Gear Sales
Rigging
Packing Area
Creeping Area
Video Rooms
Coaches
Accuracy
Restaurant
Bunkhouse
RV
Camping
Showers

Where we jump


Lexington Airfield
LAT: 30.4125
LNG: -96.9666667

Contact Us


1055 PR 7022, Lexington, TX, Texas, 78947, United States
979-540-8336
Website
E-mail

Latest photos from this dropzone







Latest videos from this dropzone


No videos available for this listing, be the first to submit a video.

SIGN UP OR LOGIN

Create a free account or login to review this dropzone.

Sign Up Login

User Feedback


Jean-Pierre Philippe Nasrallah Aznavour II

1 of 1 member found this review helpful 1 / 1 member
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5

Lexington!!!! Texas skydiving, it’s an awesome place to be...get away from everything and enjoy the animals; donkeys, pigs, turkeys, llamas,  pheasants and more. Beautiful  scenery, I’m a license skydiver thanks too Dave, and Cecily! The most important thing about Texas skydiving is “Safety” first then fun come ls next. This is my home drop zone, where I got my A-license and B-license. If you’re trying to learn new things with canopy or whatever Lexington is the place to be you can take your time it’s not a big drop zone... so it gives you time to build up confidence to where when you go to a big drop zone you can feel more comfortable with yourself and most of all the canopy you’re flying. Too, this day....I still go to Lexington, to skydive. The instructors, I always ask them millions of questions about skydiving. And they always respond. Very patient people always take the time to talk and listen to our crazy stories from the sky’s above. Thanks guys for showing and teaching me as I progress in my skydiving career!

Share this review


Link to review
Connor Bailey

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 4


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 4

Very friendly and professional simultaneously. Clean and welcoming, my favorite dropzone hands down. New management under David, David does a great job informing and caring about his customers and his equipment. Doesn't hesitate on where to go experience skydiving, go to Texas skydiving in Lexington TX.

Share this review


Link to review
FP2C

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 4
Everyone there is friendly, informative, and detail oriented especially in regards to safety and training. The small plane means there are never too many people in the air and together with the enormous landing area make for an ideal place to learn.

Share this review


Link to review
kb2017

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
This small drop zone has a friendly atmosphere. My Tandem experience with David was great. Sarah took excellent video. During the AFF course all staff was very helpful and always willing to answer questions and ensure all jumpers are prepared for jumps. Cecily and Nathan are excellent coaches. I am very glad I chose this drop zone to learn how to jump out of perfectly good airplanes.

Share this review


Link to review
curtedge

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
Texas Skydiving is a smaller drop zone offering a very personable experience. By my understanding it's under reasonable new management. Clean facilities, nice packing area housing well maintained gear for both tandems, and fun jumpers requiring rentals.
A chill relaxed scene, good pilots, and an easy to spot drop. Nice showers and restrooms, camping area for events, over all an awesome drop zone.

Share this review


Link to review
NateLikesToFly

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 4
Went through my AFF course here and I am currently getting my A licence here. I have learned a lot from David, Sarah and Cecily. Beginners are totally welcome, they have had great patience with me and my shenanigans so far...

Share this review


Link to review
gtrmtx

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 3
I actually drive 360 miles round trip to specifically go to this drop zone. Their professionalism and love for the sport is reflected in their knowledge of how to jump safely again and again! David and Sarah are awesome instructors and awesome people. 12 jumps down, and many more to come!

Share this review


Link to review
fourstarmarcos

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
Well... Tipped God $5 for the awesome air time.

Completed AFF, earned A-License and B-License ALL at Texas Skydiving Center.

Training: AWESOME. It's a mentally challenging sport and they designed their techniques to equip you. They're very direct with instructions to make sure you understand what you're doing.

Staff: AWESOME. They actually love their jobs! They always do their best to pump up a 1st time jumper even if it's "been a long day." The packers are freakin legit and honestly the softest openings I've had at any DZ in Texas! Student rigs maintained and always current.

Location: It's partially a farm... Fresh air... It screams true Texas location!

Fun Jumpers: Get confused as staff sometimes because they also greet you! Also cool group of steady regulars that aren't afraid to chat it up with a 1st timer(persuade into getting an "A" to have more cool air friends.)

Overall: Great for AFF and getting licensed! Great camera flyer and editing! Tandem Instructors beast the jumps! Awesome DZ!

Share this review


Link to review
Sarahfarmer82

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
I did a tandem here almost 4 years ago, and I felt at home even on that first jump. Since then I have had great jumps at other dzs, but Texas Skydiving is still where my heart is. The staff here now is a great group that really cares about every jumper that comes in, whether tandem, AFF, or fun jumper. Being a smaller dz allows for personal training tailored for each student's individual needs. Big landing area, super nice packing area, riggers always available for assistance, t.v. available to check out footage right after each jump, and great tunes blasting (most of the time). I feel lucky to call this my home dz.

Share this review


Link to review
chouston

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
After moving to Texas I decided to go for it and get my AFF, after some shopping around I decided on Texas Skydiving Center. I emailed back and forth with the owner, Cindy, who was very responsive and friendly in answering my many questions prior to booking my jumps. As I was driving down from Mansfield I needed a place to stay, not only were they kind enough to let me sleep on a couch at the DZ, but the whole staff were amazingly friendly during my stay. David and Sarah were fantastic teachers super fun to hang out with. The entire staff were great to be around and super supportive. I cannot say enough about how positive my experience was, I would highly recommend making the drive to Lexington. I can't wait to fly with you guys again!

Share this review


Link to review
Zach_77069

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
Like the short description says above, I got my license at this DZ, and have learned a lot by coming here. One thing that most the people comment on coming out here, skydivers and tandems alike, is the unique rustic atmosphere. That has been cultivated out here with the small town feel and southern friendliness that is sure to make anyone feel welcome and relaxed. The DZ has a large landing area with many safe outs in case you find yourself in a situation, since it sits on a 100+ acre piece of flat open land. You won't feel like another number coming out here with the heads up, one on one instruction you will receive from instructors here, as well as a welcoming community of fun jumpers. I highly recommend it!

Share this review


Link to review
MAD1210

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 1
Professional:
  • 1


Services:
  • 1


Location:
  • 1


Facilities:
  • 1


Vibe:
  • 1


Aircraft:
  • 1
Wow! Never seen a DZ with such terrible reviews! I so agree with every negative review I have read. I only take the time to write this review so that hopefully other people can learn from my mistake.

I booked my entire AFF through Texas Skydiving Center, upon arrival the owner (Cindy) requested "fuel fees" so that added "$12 per jump, I agreed to the fees since I wanted to get my AFF and continue on with my A-License.

First of all, their ground school is a joke, I think we spent at the most 2 hrs and most of it was watching videos. Good luck if you get any adequate training before a jump. The instructors are too busy smoking cigarettes and joking with each other. For my second AFF jump Cindy made me practice touching my cut away handle and silver handle, she instructed me to do that during free fall 3 times and pull, I did as instructed and passed. I had ZERO instruction for my 3rd AFF jump, I kept asking the instructors and they kept telling me to just relax and that we would discuss things on the plane! Again they were just minding their own business.... We walked to the plane close to sunset, the winds were about 13mph, we got on the Cessna and exited at 9,500 ft because it was getting dark. No pre-jump briefing, other than "relax, arch" We exit the plane right over our landing area, the winds were so strong that I kept getting pushed back in my huge student canopy, at this time I thought that I had lost my radio because nobody was talking to me. I kept flying away from the DZ, flew over roads, there were trees, ponds, as I got closer I saw a lot of power lines and started freaking out, luckily I was able to get out of there, and had spotted a small green area in between the trees I was planning to land on, that's when Cindy gets on the radio and tells me "I cannot longer see you, but watch out for power lines" It was already pretty dark, luckily I landed on that grassy area that I had mentioned. Then Cindy got on the radio again and said "Make sure you don't drag the canopy" She didn't even say I hope you landed safely, none of that, her main concern was her canopy - My two instructors came looking for me on a golf cart. When I arrived to the DZ my friend who is an experienced skydiver told me that it was already too dark to take a student, it was too windy, we exited in the wrong place, and Cindy was not talking to me on the radio because she never saw me exit the plane... She forgot that I was up there and was too busy chasing her donkeys back into the barn instead.

Went back the next day asking for an explanation, I gave her an opportunity to apologize, instead she gave me an excuse; she said "Skydiving is not an accurate sport"- I told her that I was not jumping at her DZ again, she immediately CHARGED me the fuel fee for the remaining jumps that I did not get to make PLUS cancellation fees for each jump that I did not make. I told her she could keep all my money, at that moment I didn't care, I just wanted to get away from that place.

That place is HORRIBLE!! Their aircraft was so ghetto, it had no lining inside, no seat belts, no need to be a skydiver to happily jump out of that plane!

The facility has lots of animals running around wherever, my daughter was 3 at the time and saw donkeys mating right in front of us, it was a bit disturbing...

They advertise this place to be conveniently close to Austin, it is still a 45-1 hr drive away, there are no hotels near by and no camping facilities. I think I am required to give this place 1 star, it should be shut down.

Share this review


Link to review
jmcanally

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 1
Professional:
  • 1


Services:
  • 1


Location:


Facilities:


Vibe:
  • 1


Aircraft:
  • 1
We wish we could give you a full review, but my daughter was not able to jump on the day scheduled. Their plane had an oil leak. Understandable- things happen.

But then the madness began: no refund for cancellations! What!! We didn't cancel! They weren't able to deliver, but still wanted to keep our entire $295 for the jump and the photo package. After several phone calls they agreed to "go against their policy" and refund the money. They only refunded $260. The "owner" said they kept out the portion for "training." If you've ever done a tandem jump, you know the training to which I refer: It's less than 10 minutes of "Put your feet here; lean like this; spread out your arms and feet; let's go!" And that's adequate, but it's not $35 worth of anything.

In any case, I wish she had the ability to learn how to run a customer-friendly business. It should have been something like this: "We are SO sorry to have wasted your time and money driving so far out here. Our equipment should have been ready. I appreciate your business so much I'll refund the total price and when you reschedule I'll credit the amount for the training and take $35 off."

But, nope, these people obviously don't get it. They have our $35, but that's all they'll get from me and I'll try to keep as many others from going there as possible.

Share this review


Link to review
MaxiF

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 1
Professional:
  • 1


Services:
  • 1


Location:
  • 1


Facilities:
  • 1


Vibe:
  • 1


Aircraft:
  • 1
So apparently this facility is by far the WORST place to do business here in central Texas. I am just wanting to voice MY OPINION of this and Ms. Cindy you are one of the RUDEST people I have EVER met. Not only will I be writing a review on here but I will continue to do so and post it all over Twitter AND Facebook so the whole world knows how awful this business is.

I bought a Groupon back in March for my mothers Birthday so she could go sky diving and knock one of the items on her bucket list off. She has always wanted to do this and I've always been for it since I am an adventure seeker like she is.

So today was the last day to use is. Prior to today my mom tried calling several times but she'd be told that they weren't jumping that day or anytime soon due to weather or various other excuses like not enough people etc. So on the Groupon it says call to make a reservation by 08/05/2013 okay so I call for her so that I can make the reservation later this year in the fall when its cooler and she doesn't lose the Groupon.

As soon as the phone is answered and I tell Cindy what it is I have (A GROUPON) her tone of voice IMMEDIATELY changes. She become rude with me and starts to tell me to read her the fine print. I ask her why and she says it has to be used TODAY and they aren't doing jumps so I am going to lose my money. I am in awe at this point confused because that's not what it says and I paid quite a chunk of money for this gift. I tell her it doesn't say it has to be used by today that it says I must make a reservation by today. She begins to raise her voice and I tell her I will call her back once I read over the Groupon again and speak to the person who needs to make this Reservation.

I tell my mom whats wrong and she calls them. Same story only this time Cindy is claiming that they have been having problems with Groupon not putting on there the fine print and its not her fault. Then my mother tells her that we will be contacting Groupon about the matter to get a refund and she quickly changes her tone and says no she doesn't want to put words in there mouth that its not exactly what they have said but nonetheless my mother insists and then Cindy gets worse raising her voice (at a customer who was planning on bringing along others myself included and paying FULL PRICE for us me, my husband and sister to jump as well which we told her and she continued to NOT CARE!)

She also says that and I quote "We wouldn't want someone like you here ANYWAYS!" I'm sorry but that sounded a little racist considering my mother has a very thick Hispanic accent...

I was NOT happy. She continued saying Groupon has been refusing to put on their Groupons that it must be used and reserved by 08/05/2013 and it was too bad so sad we just lost $ for not using it correctly. I was furious and my mother decided that she was just going to hang up and let her know that we wouldn't be arguing with her about this matter.

Cindy is the manager of this facility supposedly and I think that this place should be closed down. FYI I will be reporting you to the Better Business Bureau and also writing to local media centers to follow up with an investigation on your facility!!! In the end I spoke with Groupon who were NOT AT FAULT and they went ahead an offered me 1 of 2 things to either A. Talk to them on my behalf and make the reservation or B. Refund my $ Needless to say I Chose B. WHY? well if this woman is this way can you imagine how she would react if there was an emergency or while jumping??? AND THANK GOD I CHOSE WHAT I DID read below and you will see this isn't' the FIRST TIME MS.Cindy royally messes up. Last note PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM I promise you all you will get is a headache from having to deal with this company!!! I RATE THEM NO STARS!!!

Share this review


Link to review
Igisuma

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 2
Professional:
  • 1


Services:
  • 3


Location:
  • 4


Facilities:
  • 3


Vibe:
  • 1


Aircraft:
  • 4
I am a former military (branch withheld) skydiver who decided to jump at TSC after a brief web search for a place near Austin. I said nothing of my military experience to the people at TSC; and, in fact, was never asked about it because I am now an older man who does not look particularly military.

The ground training was brief, rather condescending, and I was basically treated like a preparatory load of luggage. The friendliness seemed to revolve around the individuals who worked there or knew others who were regulars. Much quiet discussion was about puerile matters like hot girls, the coolest new gear, things about the boss, etc.

Whenever I had what I considered a serious question I was looked at as though I was an interloper intruding on an elite group of operators preparing to do something special for their country. Although I felt equally as condescending to these young neophites who land on soft grass I held my tongue.

The owner was also an impolite and brusque individual who didn't seem to have "The Vibe." She did not pick up on various clues I threw her that this was hardly my first jump--try several hundred.

Having read a very old commentary on this website by an Army helicopter pilot and a friend's judgement that he defended it seems as though I am fortunate to have survived my jump. I am also not surprised re. the treatment of the jumper who had to cut. Perhaps a thorough FAA and USPA investigation are in order here.

I will just be happy that my aerial time in Texas turned out to be alright after all.

As for TSC, I would watch it. You're sloppy.

Share this review


Link to review
MariaMom

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 4
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 4


Facilities:
  • 3


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 2
I just wanted to thank the Texas Skydiving Center for all of your help in arranging what has been one of the BEST experiences of my life! Every second of it was amazing and I'm already looking into scheduling another jump!

I also wanted to let you know that I was very impressed with the staff! Everyone was so kind and professional. I am recommending your business to everyone I know and am looking forward to returning myself.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Share this review


Link to review
Aprilia750

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 4


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 3


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 4
I am working on my AFF and when I need an escape from the city this is where I go. At any skydive center the arrival to jump times are sometimes long, sometimes short. When each plane load carries 4 max, this is expected and understood. I once waited for 5 hours at a DZ with an otter and they never seemed to fill it up. When you plan to go skydiving, plan the day for it and enjoy the peace and quiet for a while. If your in a rush, don't go that day, simple as that. Cindy is a great business owner and wonderful to work with. She is understanding and helps me make my day before appointments with ease and very friendly in doing so. I called another dropzone in the area and the woman answering was so rude and put me on hold after answering an irrelevant question so I just decided TSC was where I would keep going. The llamas and donkeys are what keep this dropzone a rural one and personally, I like it. It gives the atmosphere of a small business done for pleasure which is what this is. I have read some bad reviews and they all come down to the individual not understanding the sport they signed up for. They will charge you for lost emergency handles, because they are expensive. They will charge you for a lost main chute, because it is time consuming and a hassle to gain permission to enter private property to retrieve it. I have seen too many people blame insufficiencies on the business instead of taking the wrap for a mistake or happenstance during this extreme sport. If you understand what you are about to do, the cost, the risk, the procedures, and the thrill these people are giving you (just IMAGINE the insurance costs of something like this) then this is as good as any other DZ. If you like the friendly atmosphere, rural escape, and a day to forget about all daily stressors then I highly recommend this DZ. As for the small dinky plane, It always makes me want to jump rather than land in it .. and that's a good thing ;P

Share this review


Link to review
Srtgblue

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 5
Thank you all so much for making such a memorable experience for me and my son.

Share this review


Link to review
MeganMc

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 1
Professional:
  • 1


Services:
  • 2


Location:
  • 1


Facilities:
  • 2


Vibe:
  • 2


Aircraft:
  • 1
I took my boyfriend skydiving for his birthday. It was a surprise so I paid for DVDs to be made of our jumps. Since it was a 1st time jump for both of us I paid a total of $502 for two static-line jumps and two DVDs which the owner requested payment for prior to training or jumping. Once we got there, and my boyfriend realized I had paid for the DVDs, my boyfriend elected not to have the DVDs made. I spoke with the owner about this matter 3 times before we jumped. She agreed to refund my card for the amount of the DVDs that were to be made, a total of $180, but asked that we go ahead and jump and deal with the paperwork afterwards.

My boyfriend jumped first with no problems. I jumped next. When my parachute deployed it was tangled and not fully open. I used the techniques I learned in training, pull the stabilizers apart and kick, as an attempt to open my parachute fully. Unfortunately the parachute was too tangled to come apart and I had to cut the shoot. So I did what in training they called a “Look, Look, Touch, Touch, Pull, Pull.” Basically I looked for my emergency pulls, I placed my hands on the pulls, and then I pulled them straight down. The first pull is your parachute cut away which means it cuts away the tangled parachute so that you may engage your reserve. Then I pulled my reserve cord. There is about a 3 second gap from the cutaway from the old parachute and the opening of the new parachute where you are just free falling again. My new parachute engaged and I made it safely to the ground. Once on the ground the owner met me on the field to ask if I knew where the old parachute and some parts of my emergency pulls had landed. I told her I had no idea considering I was only thinking about the deployment of a working parachute while I was in the air. The owner immediately got on the phone to call someone about part pricing. When I asked her what was going on, and if she was going to give us the refund for the DVDs that were not made, she stated I had lost a part on one of the emergency pulls when I activated my new parachute and therefore she would have to charge me for the dis-engaged parachute and emergency pull. The pull was $176 and the parachute was $350. I told the owner that there is nothing in any of the paperwork that was given to us stating that I would be financially responsible for anything if broken or lost, nor had anyone said that we would be financially responsible during our 4 1/2 hour training. The owner’s response to that was that she would be generous and just charge me for the missing emergency pull part, $176, and not the tangled parachute I had cut away. At that point she refused to refund my card and proceeded to be extremely rude. My boyfriend and I had to contact the police who came out and took statements from all the staff members. Come to find out the individual who had packed my parachute had only worked there for two weeks and had never actually skydived himself. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Look for another facility that has a trained staff and who isn’t so hard up for money. You will enjoy yourself a lot more and won’t have to call the police on your boyfriend’s birthday.

Share this review


Link to review
thirteenfold

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 4
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 2


Location:
  • 3


Facilities:
  • 3


Vibe:
  • 4


Aircraft:
  • 2
i went to this DZ for my 31st jump. All of my previous jumps except 1 were at Skydive Spaceland. This DZ is super small. There are lamas, pigs, roosters, and other animals as well. My dad went for his first jump ever. I had never jumped out of a cesna before so i was kinda excited but my dad was freakn out cuz the cesna was a rust bucket. Anywho the DZ is one warehouse about 1000sqft. Really small but they have made good space for what they have. Bathrooms with showers were connected. After signing our waiver we were in the plane in 15 minutes. My dad and girlfriend didnt watch any safety video or get any instruction until 8000 ft in the cesna which was kinda whatever. My biggest concern was i had asked for rental gear and upon gear check my repack date was over a year old. This concerned me for the rest of the gear and how they may have slacked in other areas. The staff was super nice, super helpful, and understood my concerns. I understand things happen and thats why we do gear checks... ill give it a 4 out of 5 because of how helpful they were and because i and my family was able to do what we came for safely, SKYDIVE!

Share this review


Link to review
dz2girl

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 4
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 4


Location:
  • 4


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 4


Aircraft:
  • 3
This place has the most awesome staff. I am getting proficient, with their help and patience. Finances have forced me to take a lot of breaks, but they always help me get back on track. They are patient and go the extra mile to work with their students. I just felt like everyone should know this. I especially want to say thanks to James, Josh, Gary and Cindy.

Share this review


Link to review
DeltaBravo

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 5


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 4
I did my first jump, a tandem, at Texas Skydiving Center, and was hooked. I've been back several times since and am working toward my A license. I even prepaid my AFF course because I was so pleased with the instruction and the overall experience, not to mention the price!

Cindy, the DZ owner, is always easy to reach by phone, and gets back to you promptly via email. She is very kind and attentive, and really makes you feel at home. The jumpmasters are easy to get along with, enthusiastic, and do a great job at gauging your readiness and ensuring your confidence. Also because the DZ is small, the instruction is very personal and one-on-one. I've already got a couple friends signed on to start AFF courses too.

The facilities are fine, and they've been improved a lot, even in the short time I've been there. The "outhouse" referred to in a previous review is actually just a separate sink and stall attached to the packing room, which also has a full bathroom and shower. There is a covered pavilion with table and chairs, nice place to hang out and eat. There's also a great little restaurant called Melissa's a couple miles away that serves a delicious home-cooking buffet. Or get out there early on Saturday and try out the absolute best barbecue in Texas at Snow's.

The best reason to skydive here is the atmosphere. It feels like a mini-vacation every time you go. Although there's a closer DZ to my place in Austin, I'd rather drive the extra 20 minutes to be in such a relaxed environment away from the city. If you're a first-timer looking for a great experience, you're definitely in the right place. And if you decide you like skydiving, I'll bet you'll be back!

Share this review


Link to review
TAndrews

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 5
Professional:
  • 5


Services:
  • 5


Location:
  • 5


Facilities:
  • 4


Vibe:
  • 5


Aircraft:
  • 3
I went to the Texas Skydiving Center to take a static line course and wound up taking an AFF course. This wound up being a great decision! The Instructor Staff did a very good job of instructing the first jump course and James was an excellent AFF instructor. The staff was very friendly, they even took me (an older gentlemen 40 YOA) with them to the local town festival. I took a packing course with Gary and to this day I can still pack a chute. I have been packing and jumping my own chutes since jump#15. I had no problem finding the dropzone and I drove there from West Texas (approximately 8 hours) bypassing several other dropzones that were closer. I have been there a couple of times and the people and dropzone have always been great! I can't understand anyone ever having a bad experience! The DZO Cindy has always been very accomodating and willing to do what ever is necessary for everyone to have good time!!

A Great Dropzone!
TAndrews My .02

Share this review


Link to review
Joshua

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 2
Professional:
  • 1


Services:
  • 4


Location:
  • 4


Facilities:
  • 2


Vibe:
  • 1


Aircraft:
  • 2
The owner/operator is a control freak who is hypercritical of her trainees. The flight manifests are disorganized, the training short and unsufficient, and the general vibe of the place is poor.

The employees all seem glum and cynical.
It is a long drive from any major city, and not worth it. Go to Salado!

In my self defense (in response to the above contribution), I have to direct other readers to the jumper that had the same problem locating the DZ at TSC. I encountered a similar problem at Salado, but this time it was mutually agreed that most of the last jumpers exited far beyond the DZ. I was never "chewed out" for this at Salado, nor was I asked not to return. On the contrary, I receive regular emails inviting me to jump. I also was not banned from TSC, I merely listened to my recorded conversation with the owner several times, and decided that it was not the sort of training environment I needed or wanted.
I would also like to point out that were I dangerous I would have at least fractured a major bone , or hurt another jumper. I have done neither, but know many experienced jumpers (instructors) who have. Apparently the "zero defect" only applies to trainees at TSC.

Share this review


Link to review
l.a.k.

0 of 0 members found this review helpful 0 / 0 members
  • 4
Professional:
  • 4


Services:
  • 3


Location:
  • 4


Facilities:
  • 3


Vibe:
  • 4


Aircraft:
  • 2
I have to respond to Joshua's review, since I was there both times when he jumped and completely missed the DZ by more almost a mile while everyone else on the load had no trouble landing in. The DZO's concern as well as the whole staff was Joshua had absolutely no recall of what he did under canopy or what he saw or which direction he faced at any time... and his story changed every time he told it. Scary! I would not want to be under canopy at the same time as someone so disoriented. I have not experienced the DZO treating students badly even when they make a mistake. The focus is on trying to do corrective training.

Share this review


Link to review