soulbabel

Nikon D7000 & Sony SLT-A55/SLT-A33

Both of these cameras are coming out next month, and I was wondering if anyone had thoughts on how well they could be used for skydiving. It seems they both support wired remotes that can be adapted to a tongue/blow/bite switch. I'm still relatively new to cameras, but I've been trying to get up to speed. I know most skydivers jump Canons, but these cameras look worth considering.

The Sony Alphas seem very appealing to me, because of the fast phase detection auto-focus and the very small and lightweight size compare to other cameras. There's a lot of other features that I find interesting on these, but they are mostly ground photography related. Battery life isn't too good, but overall, the Alpha has a very good price point for what you are getting out of these cameras.

The Nikon seems like a really spectacular camera as well. I'm wondering if the weather sealing aspect of this camera really adds to it's durability in skydiving. Also, would it's "39 area (9 cross type) TTL phase detection with AF fine tuning" be beneficial for our purposes?

I'm sure I left out a ton of pros and cons about these cameras, so please feel free to talk about other aspects.

For skydiving, on the whole you want to avoid anything with non-electronical image stabilisation in it. The Sony alpha cameras all have sensor stabilisation, for me a very big reason never to buy one.