StearmanR985

Something Learned Once Demo's Were Gone

I like flying the canopy. I want to learn to swoop.

There is a lesson in this story so bare with me.

As many of you are aware I have recently demoed a Sabre2 170, Spectre 150 and borrowed a Stiletto 150. Now I have been flamed here on DZ for the last two choices and probably rightly so as I was going against the grain. But filtering through the flammage I found some helpful advice; it was suggested that perhaps I could do more on my Tri 175 then I thought I could. Now being the stubborn individual that I am, it took me a few days to really process this. I am actually open minded, sometimes it just takes me awhile to get there. ;)
So on Friday I took the ole Tri out for a 'spin' :D to see what could be done. A cone was in the landing area and I decided to use it for my landing target. I did a 90 degree front riser carve continued using fronts to steer at the cone and keep some speed up and bam, I came within one foot of it all while surfing my Tri to a one step. Very cool and very FUN!!. I did it again on a second jump only this time there were people (on the ground) in the way so I steered right by them (not too close mind you) for another surf to a one step. Hmm, interesting, didn't think I could do stuff like that with this 'ole thing'.
There was something else I read from another poster here that motivated me to work harder on the Tri and that was, "It is the pilot, not the canopy..." Very valuable quote, I viewed it as a new challenge, a personal challenge.
Lesson: Perhaps it is true that one should wring out the performance of their current canopy before moving on. This doesn't mean I don't want a 150, it just means I am not in as big of a hurry as I was a week or two ago.

I was pleasantly surprised on Friday. I am going to keep working with my Tri for awhile and I would appreciate any advice on techniques to use for good surfing.

Jeff