superstu

buying a first rig

hey everyone, i'm new to the sport (30 jumps) and i am now looking for a good first rig that is under $2000. i've looked in the classified section and have seen a few that have interested me but had some questions. one is how do you know if it's a good rig before you actually buy it? Can you test it out some how and if you don't like it send it back or something? basically if anybody can give a me a run through of how this work that would be great.
and for those of you out there looking to sell your complete rig, i'm 5'11'' 160lbs. i'm looking at a main in the 170-190 range preferably a sabre, a PD reserve above 190, and a cypres. my price range is around $1500 to $2000, or less would be nice but i know that's asking a lot.
thanks a lot, and have fun
Slip Stream Air Sports
Do not go softly, do not go quietly, never back down

When I bought my rig two years ago, this is what happened.

I found an ad on enclave.com (sorry HH!) that roughly fit my specs. I e-mailed the owner to see if he still had it. He did. I asked my instructors if the gear and price were good. They said yep. So I telephoned the gear's owner, and we arranged for him to ship it directly to my rigger care of the dropzone.

The rigger checked it out, I demoed it a few times, my instructors gave me the thumbs up, and I sent the guy a money order.
Skydiving is for cool people only

I did the same as Jessica on my irg,b ut I found it on here. The thing was I had to get a copy of the cashiers check emailed to the seller before he would mail me the rig. This proved to him I had the money and it let me inspect the rig. I mailed him the check 5 hours after getting the rig.