CanuckInUSA

First skydiving injury and I didn't even crash?

Well today it appears that I suffered my first (yes I know beer) significant skydiving injury. And the weirdest part is that I didn't even crash on my landing. It was on my third jump of the day and I was doing a hop n'pop due to an ever increasing low ceiling (I can't believe tandems were paying full fare for 7500 foot jumps). Anyway, myself and another more experienced dude were doing a hop n'pop and the winds went from moderately low to pretty much non existent while we were landing (historically I like no wind days). And the funny thing is that this other dude biffed his landing and as far as I could tell, he didn't hurt himself. And then seconds later I followed in on my front risers, flared and had to run it out a little faster than what I'm used to (I'm still learning the flare characteristics of my new canopy with only 25 or so jumps on it). Well I guess I either touched down too hard or hit something alone the way, but my left heel is sore and a tad swollen. At this time I'm hoping that the swelling will go down and that nothing is broken. But my hockey teamates won't be happy if I can't recover for Wednesday's playoff game. :S Anyway, I won't be jumping tomorrow for likely two reasons. The first one is obvious. But also some crappy weather has blown into the state and jumping just likely wasn't going to be in the cards period (so three jumps this weekend is better than none).

Now while I am forced to put some weight on my toes and doubt I could run, I'm really not hurt that bad (I've hurt myself so many times in sports like hockey that I know when I'm hurt bad and when it's just a bruise). But I guess I need to take some sort of lesson out of this. I'm not sure what, except to know that the chances of getting hurt in skydiving do very much exist on even jumps where you feel like you are in control. [:/]

Blue skies y'all!!! :P

Try not to worry about the things you have no control over