freeflir29

Always learning!!!

Wow...after 77 jumps on this PD 190 and a lot of progression in the landing techniques I'm still learning. Weekend before last I did a high 180 hook and rode double front risers for about 4-5 sec on approach. Now...this isn't exactly the wildest approach I have ever made. Damn boring one by normal standards. However......it did produced one of the longest, smoothest, sweetest surfs I have ever done. I was very puzzled by this one. How did I get that much surf out of a relatively conservative approach? Here's what I learned this weekend about surfing.
1. Smooth is fast: I used to think that hook turning and flaring to land was a fast and violent affair. Hence my surfs weren't nearly what they could have been. I was robbing all the energy by forcing the canopy into a glide by throwing my arms straight out. Funny part is I saw myself on video recently and thought that I confirmed that my brakes had shrunk cause I didn't have my arms straight out yet was in level flight on landing. Turns out I just learned to be smoother.
2. Start your flair high: I first attempted surfing by waiting until the last possible second and throwing the brakes out to "make" the canopy glide. Too much control input just robs speed. I now use about half the amount of brakes and still end up with level flight.