gski415

1st Rig???????

He all. I am fairly new to the sport. I am Done with AFF and in route to my Class A check dive. I am still trying to gather information on what a reasonable first rig would be to purchase? This is not something I want to skimp on obviously but $$$ is an issue. I just would like to know our opinions on the best value 1st rig. Thanks In Advance!!

He all. I am fairly new to the sport. I am Done with AFF and in route to my Class A check dive. I am still trying to gather information on what a reasonable first rig would be to purchase? This is not something I want to skimp on obviously but $$$ is an issue. I just would like to know our opinions on the best value 1st rig. Thanks In Advance!!

Talk to your instructors, then your rigger, and have one of them tell you what you should be looking at, and review it with them before you put any money out there.

Your instructors will give you canopy sizes, rigger can help you find a fitting harness/container and make sure it's airworthy.

Either of them should be helping you find the gear, make sure its worth what you're paying for, and you get what you paid for.
"I may be a dirty pirate hooker...but I'm not about to go stand on the corner." iluvtofly
DPH -7, TDS 578, Muff 5153, SCR 14890
I'm an asshole, and I approve this message

Look for used gear for a first rig. It's not 'skimping' on safety to buy used, just saving $1000s of dollars. Every rig out there needs to be inspected and have the reserve repacked every six months, so airworthy is airworthy.

Ask your instructors what size main and reserve you should be looking for, and build off of that. You may find a complete rig for sale that will work, or you may buy seperate main, reserve and container to assemble your own (a rigger will do the actual assembly).