baronn

Best video editing computer ( for me)

Finding myself in a position where I need to edit my own videos. I have never done this before and haven't got a clue which direction to go. Being told the Macs are the easiest way and leaning towards that. Any and all help will be appreciated but, please be specific and give a reason for the advice. Thanks in advance

Many posts on this topic, but as most things around here, the answer is.... it depends. What are you shooting? HD or SD? What is your desired output- DVD/youtube? hwhat matters to you in your edits (speed? effects? ease of use etc?)

If you are a mac guy...staying mac would be easy. If not, PC will be fine.

Software- most simple/basic editors are usually free with your computer. Movie Maker in windows and imovie work plenty well for many users. If you want something more advanced, many on here use one of the Sony Vegas or adobe premiere products (movie studio and elements are usually under 100 bucks).

Hardware- for speed of rendering, processor power and number of cores seems to have the biggest impact. having healthy ram space and a good graphics card can also be nice.

Being told "Mac is easy" is true.
For email, cruising the web, or Facetime.

Past that, they're virtually identical in most every way.
My main axe is a MacBook Pro and my secondary is a G5. Both are running Boot Camp (an application that allows me to run Windows 7 on my Mac).

I run Premiere, Media Composer on both sides, Sony Vegas on the PC partition, and FCPX on the Mac side.
If I want to get things done, I work in Premiere (runs on Mac and PC) and if I want to get things done fast, and compositing/Zplane won't be part of the process, I use Vegas.
Editing on a Mac is slower.
Period.

If it's a multi-use machine and having cute graphics is important, and doing things the "Apple way" works for you, then get a Mac.

I would not use/own Mac if my work did not require one.