saxboy

Help about brightness

Hello there!
I am very new in skydiving with still camera so....I need some help.This a photo on my second jump with my camera.Why this photo is a little dark?
The settings are:
Canon Eos 400D
Stadard lens 18-55
Manual focus
and sport program.
Thanks...

Hello there!
I am very new in skydiving with still camera so....I need some help.This a photo on my second jump with my camera.Why this photo is a little dark?
The settings are:
Canon Eos 400D
Stadard lens 18-55
Manual focus
and sport program.
Thanks...

Any time you do an auto exposure setting you are letting the camera decide certain things based on what IT knows. In this case the camera "sees" a lot of white in the frame (the clouds) and rightly assumes that's a LOT of very light area so it darkens the exposure to compensate. This makes the actual subject appear VERY dark. The camera isn't at fault because it doesn't actually know what it is you're trying to take a photo of.

If you had been closer and filled the frame with the skydiver, then things may have balanced out better with the auto exposure settings.

Had the sky been completely blue, you might have received better results, but then again, if you had been looking directly into the sun, probably much worse.

Camera flying is an art, science and a bit of a crap shoot.
quade -
The World's Most Boring Skydiver

Get away from the "auto" features. It will make you a better photog faster. I'd recommend starting with the "TV" setting and play with shutter speeds between 200 and 500 to begin with.
----------------------------------------------
You're not as good as you think you are. Seriously.

When a camera is set to auto exposure, it looks for an image that is exposed at 50-percent brightness. For most normally light scenes, this works fairly well. And if you shoot skydivers from above, with the ground below (not counting BSR violations), you usually get a decent image.