PharmerPhil

HDV Random Tandem Observations

I have been jumping an HDV camera for several months now (HDR-A1U), but have just recently been shooting commercial tandem videos with it. Previously, I have used it for RW and non-skydiving shoots. The following are some observations, questions, conundrums regarding its use. I should point out that my previous tandem video camera was a Sony DV model TRV-38. There are certainly major differences between the two, and some are a little unsettling for my use. I should also mention that although I do a fair amount of NLE (FCP), I do my tandem editing using old linear equipment with my camera as the one and only feeder deck.

1. When I hit slow motion on my remote (LANC or wireless), the image on screen and on the output freezes for slightly more than a second before going into slow motion. Likewise, when I go from slow-mo to normal speed, the image on screen freezes for even more time before resuming normal speed. Previously, I did this regularly during my mix, and my older camera went quickly and smoothly from full-speed to slow speed. I am guessing that this is due to the intra-frame compression, and the fact that the camera needs to buffer and reference frames before and after the current frame before figuring what to output. Unfortunately, this makes for a much less pleasing transition using my older (stone-knives and bear-skins) editing techniques. Additionally, the slow speed is much slower than any of my Mini-DV cameras (TRV-900, TRV-38, and PC-1).