Zeemax

final cut pro

Ok, i have final cut pro and i've, er, lost the manual, that um, came with it... ahem... Yes, that'll do.

Anyhew... I'm trying to teach myself how to use it and have already come a bit of a cropper.

Is there a way to preview the transitions before you put them in the time line? Even to just see what they do?

So far all i can work out what to do is drop them into the time line, then render them, then see what it looks like. there must be an easier way to do this?

Also, if anyone has any nice tips on how to use it, yes i know its a massive programme, i'd be very greatful!!

If it helps, which it wont, i can swap final cut pro info for pro tools information (i'm a fully trained digi operator)
Macca :)
Phoenix Fly - High performance wingsuits for skydiving and BASE
Performance Designs - Simply brilliant canopies

46mb Manual.
http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Final_Cut_Pro_5_User_Manual.pdf

Check out here, you need to sign up to post, it's free. great forums, I had a Q that was answered in about 15 minutes.
http://discussions.apple.com/index.jspa

As for tips, just keep playing with it, there's so much you can do with this program, wouldn't know where to start :P
Also, if you can "find" it, get Motion2 ;) Great for all of the menu's, cool effects, title's etc.

Cheers,
Jason.

For all of you Mac users out there using iMovie and Final cut pro, are you using laptops? Supposedly desktop computers are better and don't be bogged down as much as laptops and this is significantly noticable among PC's. But in the wonderful world of Mac computers, are laptops decent for the video editing?? If so, what model laptop are you using?
Thanks.
CJ

The professional laptops of the current generation [read: MacBook Pro] are equal in power to last generation's professional desktops [read: dual ~2GHz Power Mac]. With enough RAM, you can cut true high definition or 2k+ DI on a [professional] laptop without difficulty.