Mr17Hz

Beginners FAQ needs help... Here's my contribution:

As a beginner, I feel that the Sticky FAQ thread in this section is a little weak. It has some good information, but only a small percentage of what I was looking for as a beginner. I have compiled some questions together that I think would be good to add to it. I've found the answers to some of them in the forums. I've added some suggested answers that I’ve come up with, feel free to correct me. There are also a few questions that I had a hard time finding good answers to. It would be very helpful if someone could take the time to answer these, but then also have a moderator cut and paste parts of the post into the current FAQ, or add a new FAQ...

Camera Questions:
Q: For video cameras, what is the difference between higher priced wide angle lenses that target the skydiving market, and lower priced lenses that are more generally available?

A: Skydiving specific lenses are often only a single lens, rather than multiple. This means the lens will not stick out away from the camera as much as some others, which is less of a snag risk. Some have said that these types of lenses provide a higher quality picture as well. The downside to them is that you can only zoom in about half way, so for doing tandem videos, the ground or 'just landed' close up shot does not work well. For the sky, they are safer and look nicer.

Q: What is a full list of skydiving industry manufactures that offer camera helmets, box enclosures, lenses, etc.

A: Some that come to mind are Bonehead Composites, Cookie Composites, and WayCool. Lets try to make a full list with web links to main pages.

Q: What are important features of a skydiving Video Camera?