ShcShc11

In what situations can you fall out of the harness?

A newbie question...
I'm still new to the sport and one of the thing that still scares me is falling out of the harnesses. Its probably an irational fear, but I always hesitate in doing new things because of this fear of falling out of the harnesses (e.g: barrel rolls, flips, etc...).

In what situations can you fall out of the harnesses? How often does it happen? Would a belly-strap help like Bill Booth advised? The chest strap just seems so... primitive (irrational fear... [:/])

Thanks for the info!
Cheers!

AFAIK, you stand the "best" change of falling out of your harness unintentionally, if you open your canopy when in a sitting position.

The 2 tandem passengers that I know of that fell out of their harnesses, both had issues with muscle tone. Making them "fold in half" and backing out butt-first out of the harness through the gap between the leg straps and the lower back strap.

You can actually back out of your rig fairly easily on the ground, even with a custom fit harness.

This is why freeflyers have a bungee between their legstraps, to keep the legstraps together and in the right position when flying in the sitfly position. Especially a premature opening in a sitfly position can be dangerous, so taking care of your gear to avoid having a premature opening goes a really long way here.

As far as the cheststrap goes, as long as you close it correctly, it doesn't actually has to be tight to prevent you from falling out of the harness. In fact when bellyflying, provided the rig fits you reasonably well, you want the cheststrap fairly loose so you can ARCH.

Really, trust in the gear. Make sure you follow safety procedures (close the chest strap, don't freefly with non-freefly friendly gear, take care of your handles in the plane and in freefall) and you won't fall out of your harness.

ciel bleu,
Saskia