dmcculloch

Are some people Just not meant to Skydive?

Hi guys. I am new to the sport of Skydiving. (still doing my AFF) and my last 2 jumps haven't been that good during freefall and exit. Under canopy I am doing quite well and landing really close to my mark, except for my solo where I had to find another landing area due to too long downwind (but my landing was still good and I was happy I could find another landing area and do what I needed for a safe landing).
So I was wondering if anyone has encountered people who are really just not meant to do this. My problem is i am usually quite uncoordinated and keep turning when I try to fall still. My last 2 AFF videos are here
AFF Stage 5 - http://youtu.be/25imV8gyqA8
AFF Stage 6 -http://youtu.be/n3d27IqY0Xk

I am having a bit of time off about 2 to 3 weeks, due to work and a pooch just out of surgery so am trying to reflect and fix my issues before I get back to it. But havin a bit of doubt of my abilities and if some people are just not meant for this sport.
Thanks.

Give yourself a break, those don't look that bad.

You need to do two things, and relaxing is one of them. It's tough to do, especially when things start to go wrong, but you need to focus on relaxing and doing the second thing, which is work on your body position.

Look at your videos, your arms and legs are almost straight out. What this does is require you to keep them striaght out to keep a balanced body position.

Your straight legs balance your straight arms, and if you try to move your legs, you lose that balance. Vise versa for moving your arms, if you bring them in your straight legs will over-power your upper body and throw you off balance.