skreamer

Freefly

I am a newbie (33 jumps) and am interested in trying freeflying. What are the special considerations as far as safety and drills are concerned in freefly? I have been told audible altimeters and not attempting to freefly with other inexperienced freeflyers are pretty much mandatory. What else should I take into account?
/s
PS a similar thread was started in the Talkback forum, but I am interested in getting the 'Safety and Training' angle.
Also, how do you old-school belly flyers feel about freeflying? Do you feel the RW discipline you have dedicated most of your skydiving career to is now in serious decline popularity wise as a result? Or do you feel there is enough scope in the sport for both to thrive? I do realize that I am posting a fairly contentious thread, but am looking for rational, objective advice/feedback (please).

A couple of things that you really need to be more aware of is your altitude awareness. your internal clock is going to be off due to the higher speeds that you will encounter. so you also want to make sure that when you do pull, you have time to slow down from 180 mph to 120 mph (give or take). Those are just a couple of the bigger ones that I am aware of. There are many more that you should get an experienced freeflyer to discuss with you.