aerialcameraman

tandem canopy size

I'm a tandem instructor and have been for 3 years. I have done skydive's with very light people and very heavy people ( not exceeding 225lbs). The new canopy, the firebolt 328, I beleave is the size, is very small. It is getting small for a tandem canopy. It is not to far off our largest student canopy, which only holds one person, not two. What do you other instructors think ?

I think the definition of "small" when pertaining to a tandem canopy has more to do with wingloading, and instructor experience/ability than anything else.

I'm pretty comfortable taking up to my max weight limit (235) on a 330.
----------------------------------------------
You're not as good as you think you are. Seriously.

Considering the Icarus 330 is the best all round work horse on the market, some will disagree and many will agree. NO, a 328 is not too small.

It seem with a number like 328, it is out there specifically to compete with Icarus 330.

Drop a couple of feet of the size and it is instantly cooler, no? :D.

I will take any sized customer on a 330.

A 400 is to big, a 389 is too big....

A student canopy over 300 sq.ft is too big...

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, then the world will see peace." - 'Jimi' Hendrix

A big student canopy is flown by a big student, possibly on their first jump. A small tandem canopy is flown by a TI, hpoefully not on their first tandem.

Canopy size as related to safety all comes down to the pilot. Being realistic about their abilities and the conditions they're jumping in are the two key features that promote safe use of small canopies. If you can account for those, small canopies can be safely jumped.