j_gouge

Question about Tandem Fatalities

So I'm extremely new to skydiving (started AFF January of this year) and, as the new "resident expert" in the eyes of my circle of friends, I'm frequently bombarded with questions from those who are interested in taking their first leap. So, I try and provide them with as many answers as I can and of course, safety statistics are typically high on the list of questions. Now, I know 15 fatalities a year is the average in recent years (please correct me if this is wrong), but I'm hesitant to share that with newcommers as most of those fatalities are typically experienced skydivers (again, please correct me if this is wrong). So, here's my question: does anyone have any statistics on fatalities or injuries for first-time tandem students? I would love to be able to tell those who ask that there has not been a first-time tandem fatality in many years.

Thanks in advance for the responses and please let me know if this question is misguided in any way.

Your question is not misguided, but your post is in the wrong spot. The moderators will move this to Safety and Training or General. The only new threads here should be reports of actual incidents.

You can search the fatality database with the word "tandem" from a link at the top of the incident forum, and that will give you alot of information. In the US, there are usually 1-2 tandem pair fatalities per year. Injuries are different. "Minor" injuries like sprained ankles and broken legs happen a lot.
It's flare not flair, brakes not breaks, bridle not bridal, "could NOT care less" not "could care less".

Your question is not misguided, but your post is in the wrong spot. The moderators will move this to Safety and Training or General.

Hmm. This is Safety & Training, is it not?

O.P. Skydiving, in any form, is an extreame sport! There are risks which include DEATH! I'm a believer that anyone considering this sport should be told this and be made to understand it. :|