troyg321

Wind Tunnel training for 50+yr olds before AFF

I've been an AFF instructor for only 3 years but have more than 600 AFF jumps. In those few years I've noticed that 100% of students 50 or older, have failed multiple levels. I have a reputation of being very thourough when training students, but the fact remains that they have difficulty applying the skills in the air, not to mention at flare time. I'm tired of this fact being overlooked. These "Bucket List" skydivers are being a danger to themselves and to the the reputation of skydiving and the DZ's they visit. Now Let Me Be Clear, I Am Not Against 50+ year olds learning to skydive! They just need to get additional training before they try it for real. You don't have to do anything on a tandem, AFF or AFP is a whole different story. I've watched numbers of older jumpers break bones, sprains and road rash from poor ability to apply what they've been taught. This has got to stop. I recently got taken for a nasty ride with a 50+, the worse one in my career, coupled with a no flare landing. I could here myself on the radio as I landed him 30 feet away from myself. That's when I decided enough is enough! I feel and have started at my DZ( at least for me) a policy that 50+ AFF,AFP student must show that they have had at least 20 min of wind tunnel training before starting in air training. I hope this starts a trend of safety first. Thanks for reading. Troy AFFI

I love the tunnel and I'm not doubting that tunnel time is helpful, but given that the majority of your examples deal with poor canopy skills, what exactly is a wind tunnel going to do? Is there a tunnel near your DZ, and are your students going to get a good rate now that you're mandating time?

On the freefall side of things, what problems are you seeing? Just a lot of instability and stiffness, or is it a matter of following through all the tasks for the jump, or what?