fliguy

becomming a tunnel instructor?

Hi there,My name is Dave and im new to this site.
I am also new to the world of skydiving and tunnel flying.
I wonder if anyone can help me....Im wanting to become a indoor skydive instructor.I have flown a few times at skyventure new hampshire and I have a friend who flies there alot.i know some of the instructors there but not that well.I am aware that an instructor called brian wilson is qualified to train instructors.How do I get to become an indoor skydive instructor and are there other people like brian who are also qualified to teach people like me?

How do I get to become an indoor skydive instructor and are there other people like brian who are also qualified to teach people like me?

There is lot of people in the US who could teach new tunnel instructors.

The training programm lasts 24 days and costs lot of money for a single person. Appr. 10-15K USD pro person depends on place (tunnel), class size, etc.

Take a look to this table on IBA's website to calculate for yourself.

Don't know if you asked about it while you were out here at SV New Hampshire, but the next time you come around we would be glad to give you any info that you need. This is Brian Wilson from SV New Hampshire here and though you might have seen me as well as some of the other senior instructors here doing basic training with some of our new instructor candidates, none of us are or claim to be IBA examiners. What we basically do is introduce our new people to movement in the tunnel and a basic set of flier control and spotting skills. When we feel that our candidates have a good grasp of the basics we usually bring in someone like Joe Winters (one of the godfathers if not THE GODFATHER of the tunnel world) to iron out their skills, introduce advanced spots, and help us decide if they are ready to be granted the full instructor title and responsibilities.