woppyvac

Instructor Waivers / LLC / Insurance

I've been an AFF/Tandem instructor for just over a two years and have basically gone under the assumption that the DZ waiver would be sufficient in providing me protection against any lawsuit, etc.

That mind set has changed after hearing horror stories regarding lawsuits wiping out folks assets etc. - but those weren't skydiving related incidents. Anyways - I want to build whatever buffers I can to further protect myself.

I have created a single member LLC to use and now I'm trying to find insurance... But it dawned on me that those things mean nothing if the student doesn't sign a waiver for my LLC - correct?

So that is my question: Do I need a personal waiver for each student to support my LLC buffer? My own assumption would be 'Hell Yes!' as well as a contract with the DZ acknowledging that my LLC is a hired entity and not me personally.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. I have a couple calls out to my legal friends - but experience in the field is valued just as high IMO.

Thanks in advance.
Woot Woot!

Well.... for what it is worth to anyone else who may run down this path. I spoke with my attorney. Creating an LLC with a separate / designated bank account is about the best I can do.

Other than making sure my DZ has the LLC's certificate of organization on file and pays all future checks to that entity there isn't much else to do.

Insuring my LLC may actually make my LLC a target in a lawsuit where as being non insured means they would only be able to go after what is in the actual LLC bank account. Maybe more if they really really want to lawyer into going for my personal assets.

Waivers may just be overkill. And it sounds like I should actually read the one at my DZ to see if it already stipulates that the DZ and any of it's affiliates / employees are to not be liable etc.

So there ya go. Hope this helps someone else one day. If it does - let me know...
Woot Woot!

woppyvac