Flounder

AFF Student Thoughts

Greetings Ya'll,
New student here. I've been reading for a while and thought I would make a first post. I am on AFF 5 at Skydive Dallas. Your own GlideAngle has been with me from Jump 1. I'm a Private Pilot (SEL) with approximately 1400 hours over the last 17 years. In other words, I have had a ton of training in my life. Professional student I guess you could say.

My skydiving training experience has been fantastic so far. I've never met a group of people in a "hobby/sport" who are more dedicated or accepting of anyone who walks in the door. I have been made to feel very respectful of the risks yet safe and confident during my instruction and recognizing my limits in what I can expect to accomplish. I ask a million questions since that's who I am. But I have only been told to shut up once and that was a different instructor, haha...

I'm enjoying the AFF program. The next lesson builds upon the previous one. That's how my brain works anyway. I'm a little nervous about winding up on my back in the next couple of jumps, but drill, drill, drill on the ground should help with that. Wish me luck...

Anyway,
Just wanted to say hello and wave off. Take it easy...

Joe

P.S. If my shoe is untied above 6000 I go to EP's right? :-D Couldn't resist...
“Work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.” -Steve Jobs

Welcome to the sport. No joke, making sure your shoes are tied tight and double-knotted should be a part of your gear-up routine. I go so far as to take the loops/tails, and tuck them under the criss-cross of laces to make sure the wind doesn't blow them around and untie them. Is it a big deal? Generally no, but it's one less thing to worry about if they are all squared away.