rss_v

Employment after earning instructor ratings

Just a general question here - I'm very new to skydiving and this doesn't concern me directly.

I'm wondering how an instructor (of any sort, tandem, AFF, or anything else) becomes employed once their training is complete. Is it, as I assume, that the person will likely already be linked with a DZ (as a long-time club jumper perhaps) and will undertake their training with the blessing of the DZO etc. on the understanding that they would have a job there if they qualify?

Or do people do the training and THEN go to seek employment at a DZ much like how people look for jobs anywhere else?

Perhaps it differs between countries, as well.

Thanks for any info. I'm just trying to see how it all fits together.

It varies from jumper and jumper, DZ to DZ, country to country. Not much different from the overall labor market.

Some DZO's are course directors so they groom jumpers to be instructors. Similar to an internship in a sense.

Other DZO's put up classified adds.

Some DZ's have a mix of part time instructors who have been associated with place for a long time, and hired guns who are full time jumpers.

Not unlike the overall job market it really helps to know people at different dz's so that you can network and find openings.
"The restraining order says you're only allowed to touch me in freefall"
=P

Some DZs grow their own pool of I's from the ground up. That's what happened in my case. But there are also places that don't do AFF or any other entry level training. In other words - tandem factories. They hire in a different manner. Especially the seasonal DZs that don't stay open year round. I imagine that it's much more difficult to keep enough TMs and vidiots around.
The brave may not live forever, but the timid never live at all.