flyright

Tail Strike Avoidance

Hello fellow instructors out there. First of all I am only a coach with 500 jumps so I am not trying to act like I know more than what I do. I am only hoping to bring this situation to a better light so that more emphasis might be placed on it in the future. Tail strikes are becoming quite the common happening in the incidents of our sport, usually related to wingsuits. This weekend three of my friends and I were doing hop and pops from 5,500', after two of us went out the plane began to climb again and the third jumper left the plane to high and struck the tail wing on a PAC. The jumper suffered a major break between the elbow and shoulder with no other major injuries. The jumper was wearing a helmet, but had no ADD in use so we all know how much worse this could have potentionally been. In my opinion this can be prevented simply by a jumper knowing what is suppose to be going on with an aircraft during exit. I remember my training on exit procedures as a student, I know what AFF instructors teach now and whats in a FJC, and I just took my instructoral course recently from a very respected and well know director and I know what we are trained to teach and is current. And I feel like this area in general in lacking. We spend a lot of time and emphasis on getting ready in the door and leaving stable ect. But there is a danger between the two, and it is the tail of the aircraft. I am just hoping to get the wheels rolling with this, I don't like these forums and I most likely won't check this page again so don't bother going through bashing procedures, I just want all of us to take this into consideration with students in the future. Maybe a safety day discussion for liscensed jumpers, something. Thanx guys.
Beware of Wandering Minions!!!