kj126

AFF Phenominon

We actually had an AFF grad, go through all the ISP requirements and finished up his 25th jump with his A licensce quiz with the proficiency card completed.
It just suprisies me how so many new students dont look forward to completeing these and acquire the skills that go with it.
As an instructor I would like to see more students being pushed(if they have to be) to complete the A license.
I Am Sofa King We Todd Did!!

Our students don't even know what "AFF" is in terms of the old 7 levels and then start flailing. We teach them from the beginning that there are Categories A-H and you have to fill out the whole yellow card before you are done with the student program. Sure, some take a long time to get the less fun stuff (like packing and quizes) signed off, but I don't know of any who think they're done after 7 jumps. We do acknowledge the transition to self-supervision (at the end of traditional AFF), but don't make such a big deal about it that anyone stops trying to crank out the card.

- Dan G

I got my "A" in 25 jumps and it was fun the entire way!! Call me weird but I LIKE packing and I really enjoyed sitting with the pilot and learning about winds and weight distribution on an aircraft etc. . .
I had some of the coaches even ask me, "do you go home and read the SIM every night or what??"
To which my reply was, "yeah". The thing about this sport to me is that, the more you know the "safer" it is.

Plus, I did my FJC with a couple of good friends adn our whole goal was to be able to jump together!! And, you can't do that with out an "A"! I wish there was a proficiency card for the "B" license. I think the card helps give me some direction in trying to aquire these essential skills.

edited to add: Plus, jumping solo gets old. You have no reference on how your moving through the air.
If your gonna be dumb ya gotta be tough.

Your mom goes HandHeld