FXONE

Instructor pay?

The Drop Zone i work for keeps Qouting industry standards for jump prices and cost to the drop zone for running operations and in turn keep raiseing prices of everything from jumps to repacks without paying more to staff. I do not think he is taking into consideration the cost of liveing across the nation. I am a static line instructor with over 17 years of service and i am wanting to know what other S/L Instructors across the nation make, i get paid $15 a student with only the following jump as a bonus,I do not get paid anything for taking up a load or any other benefits. Can anyone tell me if i have a good deal or if i am getting screwed?All truthful feedback is appreciated.

I have never been at a SL DZ that payed any thing to teach or JM.

And I have never see a dz (not a club) that didn't pay to teach in any method. No pay= no teach! I'm not going to take 4 to 6 hour out of my day to train your students if your a tight ass and won't pay me for the work, you can do it yourself for free.
With the low going rates DZO's don't want to pay in the first place, they wonder why no one want's to train their S/L students, and this is why you don't see many dz's using S/L anymore, to easy to throw them out tandem with no training.
you can't pay for kids schoolin' with love of skydiving! ~ Airtwardo

Sound slike your cheap-ass DZO is still milking the old "club" pay rates a decade or so after they fell out of fashion.
A recurring problem is tthat there are always plenty of enthusiastic amateurs who are willing to work for free.
My DZ (Pitt Meadows, Canada) pays $50 to teach the IAD first jump course.
Naturally, larger classes equal larger pay checks.
They also pay $5 for every student that I drop from 3,000 feet. On busy days, I don't always take the free hop-and-pop, preferring to land with the plane and get the next load of first jump students up quicker.