flipper

Tandem Instructors - Which Canopy

I have approx 150 TM's on SET 400 / Jyro / Hop 330 and my favourite in all conditions and in all ways is the HOP. Smooth flight characteristics and nice toggle pressure all the way through the flare.
I like my canopy...

...it lets me down.

I've got a bunch of jumps on Aerodyne A2's and like how they handle and flare, but wish they had dacron linesets.

Really easy toggle pressure and very responsive. (compared to a 384, the only other tandem canopy I've jumped)

I'm pretty new at Tandems, did all my first batch of jumps on an EZ, really heavy toggle pressure and a pain. Have since jumped the RW Sigma and the JumpShack Firebolt 350, both are nice canopies with lighter toggle pressure - the Firebolt has a more dynamic flare (disclaimer - I occassionally work for JumpShack, but that's my honest opinion).
Pete Draper,

Just because my life plan is written on the back of a Hooter's Napkin, it's still a life plan.... right?

I have a Firebolt 350 in my rig and absolutely love it. Great, on-heading, soft openings and a terrific swoop with tons of power at the end. I don't think I would ever replace it with anything bigger than a 330.

I have jumped pretty much every tandem main flying in the USA right now except the A2.

Have mostly jumped EZ's and compared to those the Icarus tandem really shines in every way. However I recently observed an Aerodyne A2 making a complete stop/standing up landing, quite heavy master and passenger. It was a normal straight in approach, zero wind condition - AND the DZ was in the mountains at 2500feet ASL!

If the A2 opens well and flies as well as the Icarus that would be a great canopy for sure