riggerrob

Perfect size for TI?

What is the perfect size for a tandem instructor at a Cessna DZ?

This question came up when I visited a single-Cessna DZ in Ontario recently.
One of the regular TIs turned to me and said "You're just a little guy."
In the end, I hauled all the biggest students that weekend, out of their narrow-body 182.

At 6 feet tall and 180 pounds, I have never considered myself small.
On the other hand. both of the TIs teasing me stood 6'2" and weighed 220 pounds.
I know a couple of other large, experienced TIs who refuse to jump from Cessnas.

To re-state the question: What is the perfect size for a tandem instructor at a Cessna DZ?

I am a large Tandem Instructor. I don't like Cessnas, but will gladly do them because it's challenging. As long as the student is not HUGE, and I am cofortable that I can exit safely, I would rather the person got their skydive rather than get sent home disappointed (Cessna tandems usually happen during the week for me, when there are not enough jumpers to fill an Otter).

For those large experienced TMs at your DZ who won't jump a Cessna because they feel it's outside their personal limits, the Chief Instructo/DZO should honor their decision. On the other hand, some of them might benefit from training through the "unknown" by making two or three Cessna tandems with an experienced TM on the front.