jumper596

Downwind jump run...why?

I suppose I should know the answer, but...
Why is it that occasionally jump run is down wind? (on the first pass) Is it because the winds aloft are too strong to fly slowly up wind? That's the best guess I have. Anyone?

Upper winds could be 180 degrees off from the winds under canopy. You want your high pullers up wind of the DZ. That could be one reason.

Upper winds could be 180 degrees off from the winds under canopy. You want your high pullers up wind of the DZ. That could be one reason.

I suppose upwind are better (why else do it almost always) so why doesn't one fly the plane a bit further then and still do droprun upwind?

------- SIGNATURE BELOW -------
Complete newbie at skydiving, so be critical about what I say!!
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."

At Empuria they always fly from the sea towards the mountains, regardless of wind direction, so sometimes it's into wind, sometimes downwind. In 53 jumps there, I've had one off landing, but they do a regular bus service to the surrounding fields! I'd rather that than land in the Med any day.

I've only once got out early enough in a load to open over the town, and it *had* to be the time when I went a bit low. That was exciting - the streets and canals give a very clear indication of scale...

John

When CRW was judged using ground to air video the jumprun was almost always downwind anywhere from 3-7 miles upwind of the DZ. The idea was to get as shallow of a camera angle as possible.

Bob

I actually competed in the dutch nationals for style (that's anuther story :P), we each had our own personal downwind jumpruns.... and rollercoaster rides in between B|

ciel bleu,
Saskia

I suppose upwind are better (why else do it almost always) so why doesn't one fly the plane a bit further then and still do droprun upwind?

Ummm....sorry. I didn't understand your question at all.

>Why is it that occasionally jump run is down wind?