Surf

Help with whuffo spouse

Here's my situation: I started jumping about 6 years ago and in that first year I got 51 jumps in. I loved it. in early 1998 though I grounded myself.

My 28 year old girlfriend had just died (unrelated to skydiving), I was VERY depressed, and figured diving was not safe for me at the time.

Fast Forward to today. I'm happily married , I'm no longer depressed, but I want to start jumping again. My wife is a high anxiety whuffo. The idea upsets her greatly.

I've been ignoring the need for sky now for 5 years. I've thought about pilot lessons- but its no fun flying in a plane. SCUBA is cool, but not the same fun.

My wife wants me to be happy, but she starts hyperventilating whenever I talk about it.
I want my wife to be happy, but the strain is getting to me.

Anyone have any helpful suggestions of what they've done in this position?

"Nothing is written"- T.E. Lawrence

Try getting her to do an obersavition ride and watch other jumpers or yourself exit. If that won't work take her to the DZ just to watch others jump and let her talk to them and see just how happy they are after they land. :)

Yeah, I tried to get my whuffo (but rock-climbing) gf to go on an observer ride. She was OK until I mentioned that the one catch was she'd be wearing a bailout rig and she might, in a highly unlikely situation, be required to jump and pull the ripcord to save her life. That really put her off. I tried telling her that once it opened she wouldn't have to steer or anything but that didn't bring her back.

And she doesn't want to do a Tandem either. Sheesh.

-=-=-=-=-
Pull.

She needs to do a tandem ASAP. I was nutso for a few weeks when my wife started skydiving, then I decided to do a tandem. It completely changed my view of skydiving, and of life in general. I didn't think I'd ever get into the sport, but now I'm obsessed. In fact, we're both obsessed. She just needs to see what it's all about. Then maybe she'll understand. :)