nael

Pilot chute caught underneath main

I'm a student, jumping rigs with spring loaded pilot chutes, yesterday mine got stuck underneath the main and I landed with it that way (stressing out a few people on the ground!)

I've since found out I did the wrong thing by not cutting away, but I was stupid and didnt look up at my canopy again after I checked it just after opening, so I had no idea it was even caught until I landed. Incidently, the canopy flew fine the whole time.

I just wanted to know if the pilot chutes on a sport rig cause more/less of a problem if they are caught underneath the main? If it happens again, I've been told to cutaway, but does that go for collapsable pilot chutes too?
www.TerminalSports.com.auAustralia's largest skydive gear store

I'm no expert but I'm surprised they told you to cut away. Happened to me a lot with student rigs. The spring has a lot more inertia than regular pilot chute and can get thrown over the nose sometimes. When it happened to me, the canopy was never deformed at all and flew normally. I was always told it was normal and perfectly safe.

Dave

You are walking, you are talking, you did the right thing.
Hindsight is 20/20

After You open Your parachute You need to evaluate it, look for shape and then make a controlability check. If the parachute appears to fly normal chances are that You will be able to land it.

Certain partial malfunctions will pass a controlability check and still be hazardous to land, example broken lines, or tears.

Every situation is different, try to evaluate what You have and determine whether cutting away will aggrevate the situation or make it better.

Talk to experienced instructors.
Play "what if" scenarios in Your head.
Establish plans of action.
Watch other people.
Stay alive.
Never give up.

Mathias
Ingen minns en fegis!